## Nominations and Elections for CTFCU Board of Directors

The Nominating Committee has selected individuals from the Carolina Trust membership as nominees for Board of Director vacancies based on their qualifications and willingness to serve. Below are descriptions for each of the nominees.

Members who are qualified, interested in serving and are not among those nominated by the Nominating Committee may have themselves nominated by petition. The petition must be signed by one percent (1%) of the total membership (414). Official petition forms are available at the Credit Union's Myrtle Beach branch, located at 1010 21st Avenue North, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577. The Nominating Committee must receive petitions no later than February 14, 2020.

The election will not be conducted by ballot when there is only one nominee for each position to be filled. If there is more than one nominee for any Board position to be filled, provided by the Nominating Committee or by petition, then an election will be conducted by ballot at the Annual Meeting held Thursday, April 23, 2020. Nominations will not be taken from the floor.

All nominees, including those by the Nominating Committee and by petition, must submit a brief statement of qualifications and biographical data. This should include name, occupation, educational background, work history and other activities such as civic and volunteer experiences. Nominees must also include a signed statement agreeing to their nomination and to serve if elected to office.

If you have questions about the nomination procedures or would like more information, please contact the Credit Union at (843) 448-2133. The operator will ask for your contact information so the Chairman of the Nominating Committee or Chairman of the Board may return your call.

Any member who meets the following qualifications and submits a petition signed by 1% of the membership (422 members) is eligible to run for the Board of Directors:

- 1. At least 18 years old and a member of Carolina Trust Federal Credit Union in good standing
- 2. Committed to the success of Carolina Trust with a sincere, unbiased interest in its sound financial well-being; the ultimate concern must be the membership's interests
- 3. Experienced in financial or personnel management
- 4. Willing to attend training conferences and special meetings necessary for the successful performance of duties
- 5. Agrees to faithfully attend Board meetings and special committee meetings called by the Chairman
- 6. Agrees to participate in a training program to become more familiar with all areas of Credit Union operation soon after the election
- 7. A college education is desirable

The 2020 Annual Meeting will be a business meeting to include the election of four (4) members to the Carolina Trust Board of Directors. The Nominating Committee annuances the following nominations for the 2020 Board of Directors:

**B. MICHAEL MARLOWE** is a native of Horry County and a graduate of the University of South Carolina. Lt. Col. Marlowe is a retired Air Force pilot, airport manager, and former owner and operator of Marlowe Art Glass Co. He has over twenty-five years' experience in wholesale and retail sales, marketing, and production. He has served as a board member and president of the Broadway Business Association, board member of the Surfside Area Rotary Club, and former state commissioner. He continues to be an active pilot, instructor, and pilot examiner for the Federal Aviation Administration. Lt. Col. Marlowe currently serves as Chairman of Carolina Trust FCU Board of Directors.

**DAVID F. HONEYCUTT** holds a B.S. Degree in Business Administration/Marketing from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He served in the United States Air Force for 27 years before retiring as Colonel in 1993. Col. Honeycutt was then employed for eight years as General Manager of Myrtle Beach Golf Holiday. Colonel Honeycutt has served as President of the South Carolina Tennis Association; Chair of the State President's Group on the Southern Tennis Association Executive Committee and as a trustee on the Board of the Southern Tennis Patron's Foundation. He is a Past Chairman and currently serves as Secretary of the Board of Trustees of the SC Tennis Patrons Foundation, President of the Grand Strand Tennis League/Foundation, member of the Southern Tennis Association Investment Committee and Chair of the USTA South Carolina Investment Committee. Colonel Honeycutt recently completed his second two-year appointment to the US Tennis Association's National Committee for Tennis Rules and Regulations. David Honeycutt has served on the Carolina Trust Board of Directors since June 2001 and currently serves as Vice Chairman.

**J. DALVIN (Dal) AVANT, JR.** is a graduate of the University of South Carolina with a Degree in Business Management. He retired as Vice President of Administration for Wellman Plastics Recycling LLC in Johnsonville, SC. Mr. Avant has served as a member of the Carolina Trust FCU Board of Directors since March 1994.

**D. CARLTON LEWIS, JR.** holds a Bachelor's Degree in Business Administration from Coastal Carolina University, and a Master's Degree in Business Administration from Winthrop University. He is a Certified Financial Manager and Certified Management Accountant. He has been employed with HTC since 1998 and has held the positions of Comptroller, Manager of Financial Operations, Supervisor of Financial Operations, Financial Analyst, and is currently Chief Financial Officer. Mr. Carlton is a former board member and treasurer of Aynor Area Athletic Association. He was honored as a Senior Fellow in Class II of the Waccamaw Community Foundation's American Leadership Forum in 2011. He presently serves on the Advisory Board for Finance Department and for Accounting Department of Coastal Carolina University. He is a member of Berea Baptist Church and serves as Sunday school teacher, church treasurer, and Deacon. He resides in his hometown, Aynor, SC with his wife and two children. Mr. Carlton was appointed on October 24, 2019 to fill the remaining term of the Carolina Trust FCU Board seat vacated by the retirement of Charles M. Thrash.