skip to Main Content

Two Area Students Receive Key Scholarship Award

For the sixteenth year, Carolina Trust Federal Credit Union and HTC chose two graduating high school seniors to win $1,000 each in scholarship awards.  High school seniors from Horry, Georgetown, Marion, Williamsburg, and the southern part of Florence County planning to attend either Coastal Carolina University or Francis Marion University were encouraged to apply.

The 2022 Key Scholarship award winners are: Johnsonville High School graduate, Braydin Moore, and HCS Early College High School graduate, Mar’Teona Singleton.  This fall, Moore plans to attend Coastal Carolina University (CCU) and major in Biology. Singleton also plans to attend CCU to major in Management.

“This scholarship demonstrates our support of local students and higher education,” said Carlton Lewis, HTC Chief Operating Officer and Carolina Trust Board of Directors Member. “Both HTC and Carolina Trust are dedicated to investing in the communities we serve, and this scholarship provides an excellent opportunity to support our youth.”

The scholarship will continue to support the chosen applicants throughout their college career. The initial $1,000 is applied to their first-year tuition cost, but the scholarships may be renewed for an additional three years in the amount of $500 per year should the recipients continue to meet qualifying criteria. Recipients must maintain a 3.0 GPA and full-time enrollment at either CCU or FMU.

“We are honored to recognize these talented students. Their academic achievements in the classroom, extra curricular activities, and dedication to community service are truly impressive. We are proud of all the applicants who are planning to continue their education in an effort to achieve personal and professional goals,” said Tim Carlisle, Carolina Trust President and CEO.

Application packets were distributed to high school guidance counselors and the scholarship opportunities were advertised on the Carolina Trust and HTC websites. The 2022 award recipients were scored as most qualified for the Key Scholarship based on completed application, academics, school and/or community involvement, and school choice.

For more information, please contact Danni Scruggs at 843-369-8315 or Amanda Marker at 843-443-8533.







Back To Top
×Close search